My green thumb?!?

A green thumb, I do not have! I have always loved the idea of having flowers and a vegetable garden in my yard. Each year, I chose the flowers that I think are the prettiest, a variety of vegetables seeds and a few veggie plants and away I go. Some survive better than others. My approach to yard maintenance is: weed when I see weeds, cut the grass when it gets long and water when I have time. As you can see, no science involved.  

Instagram @BizarreLazar

A year ago, at the end of June, my family and I moved into our new home. It is an older home with a mature yard and landscaping. We have many perennials, shrubs, bushes, and a lovely garden box. When we moved in, everything was in bloom. I am starting from scratch this spring. My goal is to figure out what kinds of plants and shrubs I have and how to best maintain them. I would like to find out what vegetables are best planted together, what are best for the location of my garden bed and how I should fertilize the soil and so on. We are fortunate to have underground sprinklers, which I have never had before. I would like to investigate best time of day to water and for how long as well as, when is the best time to cut the grass and what length to cut it to.

By the end of this semester, I hope that my thumb is a bit greener and my plants are happy!

Here are the before pictures, taken May 13, 2023.

4 thoughts on “My green thumb?!?

  1. Wow!! This sounds like it is going to be a journey and I am so excited to watch your garden grow. Looking forward to watching your journey unfold and see what you learn! Do you have a particular website or platform in mind of using?

  2. I look forward to following you on your journey. I have a green thumb when it comes to indoor plants or plants I can keep in a planter. If it is in a flower bed I tend to lean towards perennials so that I plant them once and they should come back. Plants love rain water that is warm not ice cold. It is also best to water plants when it is cool outside so that they are able to absorb the majority of the water. I would suggest watering either in the early morning or evening when it has cooled down a bit. I have found on Pinterest that you can find what vegetables are complementary to grow together and which ones you shouldn’t grow together. Good luck on your journey!

    1. Thanks for your suggestions. I am still trying to work out the sprinkler system but the goal is to water in the early morning. So far, I have found some great resources on Pinterest to help with my gardening journey.

  3. What a beautiful outdoor space with so much promise, Laurie! Your pictures with the cute captions really caught my eye. I truly feel like gardening, knitting, canning, etc. (which were relied-upon tasks a few decades ago) are fading away, so it is awesome to see you taking on this project for this class! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *