Digital Citizenship = Activism?

Can online social media activism be meaningful and worthwhile? This is the question that I have been reflecting on this week. When I look at my social media presence, it is primarily educational and inspirational content. I don’t post much of my own content instead I will share or retweet information that I find important in the field of education. Rarely, do I engage in anything that could be considered “activism.” My reason for this is that I am not a loud person in “real life” and I don’t want to be different online.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I was speaking with a colleague about this after our class trying to navigate my thoughts about social media activism. My colleague mentioned that even though I am not a “loud person” they know what I stand for because of the subtle things that I will do. This got me thinking, it is important to me to be the same person online that I am in real life. I can repost or retweet in my way for things that I stand for. This is what I have started to do. So, after much reflection, I believe that social media activism can be meaningful and worthwhile and I am going to try to participate more in activism online, in my way.

What is our responsibility as educators to model active citizenship online? This is another interesting question for me as I have a rule for my social media which is that I do not accept students as “friends” until they have graduated. I have always thought that I want to keep my personal life and professional life separated. This would prevent me from being a model of active citizenship online. The way that I feel I can be a model is by teaching my students and children about digital citizenship.

Here are some websites that have lesson plans and other useful information for teaching digital citizenship and starting thoughts conversations in the classroom.

  • Media Smarts- This is an infographic which shows presents findings related to digital media literacy and digital citizenship. This would be a great discussion for a middle years/ high school classroom.
  • Media Smarts- Lesson plans for grades 7- 9 on Engaging in social media online.
74% of young Canadians feel like they contribute positive things in online spaces and 55% post content online about a cause or event they care about
@MediaSmarts Tweet

How do you feel about students having access to your social media accounts?

2 thoughts on “Digital Citizenship = Activism?

  1. I have also existed in the same world that you do; connect after graduation. Yet at the same time, I have conversations with my students about things that would normally be posted on SM that I just simply never post as I seldom post anything. It’s an interesting situation where IRL I am moderating who has access to my information, and yet, at the same time I do the same thing online, the difference being when that information is accessed.

  2. I think social media is evolving so fast, it’s sometimes hard to keep up with all the information available & to know how to sort out the “feelings” it can create. This can apply to any age of user. I think it’s important to show your true self as well. None of us are perfect, so posting only perfection seems fake. Teaching your students good citizenship is important for their growth & safety online.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *